365project, architecture, beauty, binibini gold, church, churriquesque, culture, explore iloilo, Filipino Culture, history, iloilo, in dencio's eyes, indencio's eyes, itsmorefuninthephilippines, old church, philippines, photo of the day, photography, tigbauan church, tigbauan iloilo, visayas, western visayas
The Saint John of Sahagun Church, also known as Tigbauan Church,may have been built in the late 16th century, possibly between 1575 and 1580 when Friar Luis de Montoya was assigned as Prior. This church is unique in the country because of its Latin American churriquesque architecture. It was destroyed during an earthquake in 1948.
Tigbauan’s facade is style in the Mexican plateresque, was built with forced labour and used local reddish coral and limestone from ‘nearby’ Igbaras. At the center is a seal of the Augustinian order surrounded by a retablo-like floral frieze, which fills the central section. Above the seal is a niche flanked by pilasters embellished with flowers and upon it is a depiction of San Juan. Capping the relief is the image of Sto. Niño.
Text from: exploreiloilo.com